Sins Dyed in Blood: The Lost Pirate of Blackbeard’s Golden Age

Sins Dyed In Blood
The Lost Pirate of Blackbeard’s Golden Age

By Paul Brown
Superelastic Single Shot eBook
Longer than a magazine article
Shorter than a full-length book
12,000 words = approx 70 mins reading time

Available now: Amazon UK Amazon US Worldwide

Sins Dyed In Blood

Sins Dyed In Blood is the story of Edward Robinson, who sailed with Blackbeard during the Golden Age of Piracy in the early 1700s. It follows his journey from Newcastle upon Tyne, where “the Newcastle Pirate” was born, to Charleston, South Carolina, where he met a brutal fate. Along the way, the book unmasks Blackbeard, discovers the wreckage of his sunken ship, and reveals the real rum, sodomy and lash lifestyle of pirates.

This 12,000-word story is published as a single shot Kindle eBook available from Amazon.

An article about the author’s search for the Newcastle Pirate was published in issue 6 of Northern Correspondent and is available to read on Medium.

From the cover: “Edward Robinson was a British pirate who sailed with Blackbeard during the Golden Age of Piracy in the early 1700s. Born in Newcastle upon Tyne, local legend says he fled to sea after slitting a man’s throat and dumping the body in the river. Robinson crossed the Atlantic to the Caribbean and the Americas, where he lived under a black flag, attacking ships, plundering gold, and murdering those who got in his way. In 1718, he was captured and sentenced to death by hanging in Charleston, South Carolina. “You caused your terror to be on all that haunt the sea,” his Judge told him, “and your sins are dyed in blood.” Almost 300 years later, Robinson has been virtually forgotten, and his story obscured by pirate myths and clichés. Was he really a murderous sea-robber, and did he deserve his brutal fate? Paul Brown retraces Robinson’s voyages on a quest to uncover the true swashbuckling story of the Newcastle Pirate.”

Reviews and features

“The Lost Pirate of Blackbeard’s Golden Age” – Northern Correspondent / Medium


“Strange tale of Newcastle’s very own real-life pirate of the Caribbean” – Newcastle Chronicle


“Real-life Captain Jack Sparrow was a Geordie pirate” – Daily Star


“British writer connects pirate dots” – Charleston Post & Courier

Product details

Format: eBook
Published: March 2015
Publisher: Superelastic
Superelastic Single Shot eBook
Longer than a magazine article
Shorter than a full-length book
12,000 words = approx 70 mins reading time

Available now: Amazon UK Amazon US Worldwide

***

Also available

From A Blood-Red Sea
The Last Voyage of Daniel Collins

By Paul Brown
Superelastic Single Shot eBook
Longer than a magazine article
Shorter than a full-length book
12,000 words = approx 70 mins reading time

Available now: Amazon UK Amazon US Worldwide

From A Blood-Red Sea

From the cover: “Daniel Collins sailed out of Wiscasset, Maine, for Matanzas, Cuba, in November 1824. It was his first voyage as a merchant seaman, and it would also be his last. His ship, the Betsey, was wrecked in a terrible storm, and Collins and his crewmates were left adrift in a leaking lifeboat, in shark-infested waters, a hundred miles from land. After a torturous few days with no water or provisions, they reached a remote island, where they were brutally attacked by a savage band of pirates. Collins was horribly injured, but he escaped, alone, through water ‘colored with blood’. Then, with astonishing courage and determination, Collins began an epic journey across land and sea in a desperate effort to escape from the pirates, to reach civilization, and to find a way home. For fans of The Revenant and In the Heart of the Sea, From a Blood-Red Sea is one of the most remarkable survival stories ever told.”

Published by Paul Brown

Writes about football and history. Four Four Two, When Saturday Comes, The Blizzard etc. Latest book: Savage Enthusiasm: A History of Football Fans. Twitter: @paulbrownUK

%d bloggers like this: