Unofficial Football World Champions

Unofficial Football World Champions
by Paul Brown
Superelastic, four editions, 2006-2018
Out of print

“A fascinating history of football. Five stars.” – FourFourTwo

Unofficial Football World Champions

Unofficial Football World Champions traces football’s alternative championships from the very first international match in 1872, involving legendary teams and footballing minnows, classic finals and forgotten friendlies, celebrated players and unsung heroes.

This fourth edition is expanded to include new matches, teams, players and statistics, including 936 UFWC title matches played between 1872 and 2018, and 48 unofficial football world champions.

From the jacket:

“The Unofficial Football World Championships is probably the most exciting football competition on Earth. Its amazing story involves legendary teams and footballing minnows, classic finals and forgotten friendlies, celebrated players and unsung heroes. An alternative soccer history, Unofficial Football World Champions reveals international football’s real champions and offers up a fresh perspective on the greatest game in the world.”


“The UFWC title is decided on a ‘winner stays on’ basis, going back to the first ever international in 1872. Analysing classic title matches, from 1966 and all that to Zimbabwe 2-0 Angola in 2005, it becomes a fascinating history of football. *****” – FourFourTwo

“Once you begin reading the book it’s easy to lose yourself and before you know it you’ve travelled through 138 years of international football. A refreshing and informative, yet incredibly entertaining read.” – Chris Faulkner, Late Tackle

“Not only does ‘Unofficial Football World Champions’ present a version of how the game historically developed in an informative and entertaining fashion, it is one of the most well researched and written football books to be released in recent years. No ranking system is required to confirm that this essential and fascinating book won’t be bettered for a long time. And that is official.” – Chris Ledger, Obscure Music and Football

“It is a great read and one for any football fan. Brown’s writing style is one based on humour and that helps making a potentially dry factual book into one that is a compelling journey. We award this FIFA 5 stars!” – Stuart Fuller, The Ball Is Round

First published as Unofficial Football World Championships by Tonto Books in 2006, revised and updated editions published as Unofficial Football World Champions by Superelastic in 2010, 2014 and 2018. Also published in Japanese by Asuka Shinsha in 2011.

Unofficial Football World Champions is no longer in print.

Published by Paul Brown

Writes about football, history, true adventure. The Guardian, Four Four Two, When Saturday Comes, The Blizzard, Longreads, Deadspin, etc. Latest book: The Ruhleben Football Association. Twitter: @paulbrownUK